fbpx

什么是SEM营销推广?

什么是搜索引擎营销SEM? 这是一个很普遍的问题,几乎每个优秀的企业家一生都会至少要问一次。搜索引擎营销或SEM是一种有效的数字营销策略,它能帮助把访问者引入您的网站,从而迅速增加您网站的访问量。简而言之,搜索引擎营销SEM是一种付费广告,可将您的广告和网站带到搜索引擎结果页面(SERP)的顶部。

但是,起步进入搜索引擎营销SEM的世界可能对于初学者来说是艰巨的,尤其是在其术语,技术和各个方面。 我们完全理解企业初步踏入SEO的艰难,这就是我们为什么撰写这篇文章来帮助您掌握SEM的主要原因,让您不会受复杂的术语和语言而感到不知所措。那您还在等什么?让我们一起探索SEM如何在短时间内为您的企业带来更多的业绩吧!

什么是SEM? 为什么要实施SEM呢?

如上所述,搜索引擎营销是付费广告的一种形式,可让您的业务在搜索引擎结果页中显示。 该策略是围绕“关键字”而展开的,这些关键字是搜索用户在Google等搜索引擎上查找内容时输入的术语。

通过对这些关键字进行出价,您可以通过使付费广告有机会在搜索该关键字时出现在搜索结果页面顶部中。搜索引擎营销的付费广告又被称为按点击付费广告(PPC),并且以不同的格式出现,例如基于文本的广告或视觉产品的广告。

不同类型的PPC广告。 资料来源:谷歌

但是我们为什么要实施SEM呢? SEM的最大优势是它能够在最精准的时间点中将广告展示在最精准的客户的面前。换句话说,您的广告将会被传递到最有可能与您的广告产生互动的消费者视线中。

这会为你的企业品牌引入更多的潜在客户群体,从而提升您的产品与服务的转化率。SEM的执行速度是非常快的,几乎可以立即产生立竿见影的效果。这就是SEM与另外一种搜索引擎广告SEO之间存在的巨大差异。

SEM与SEO的区别

谈到SEM和SEO之间的区别,是什么将两种数字营销策略区分开来的呢? 首先,SEO是免费的,但SEM并不是。 如果是这样的话,那么为什么还要选择SEM? 这是因为,当涉及到SEO和SEM的问题时,您的的付出是与您的收获成正比的。SEM的付费广告会为您带来快速和高质量的搜索结果,而SEO的自然搜索结果是免费的,因此SEO速度相对来说是较慢的。

这两种策略还针对消费者购买旅程的不同阶段-SEO在旅程的顶部带来的是持续的访问量,而SEM则在底部带来了转化。 但SEM和SEO并不是相互排斥的,它们都可以成为您的数字营销策略的一部分!

SEM基础知识

现在,我们已经了解了SEM的核心功能,接下来,让我们更加深入地了解它的工作原理。如我们所说的那样,我们要尽量避免过分地使用专业术语,并且保证我们的解释尽可能地简单通俗易懂!

关键字

关键字是任何SEM广告活动的重要核心。您希望当人们在进行关键词搜索的时候,您的广告能够很高效快速地出现在人们的眼中——为您的付费广告选择最有效、最相关的关键词是相当重要的。同时,您也可以选择使用关键词去避免

有效的关键字研究是良好的SEM广告活动的基础!

资料来源:Google关键字规划师

总而言之,您可以在广告活动中使用这四种类型的关键字。

  • 广泛匹配
    这些关键字锁定了不同术语的变化。它们包括了相似的短语,拼写错误的单词以及目标术语的同义词。例如,“跑步鞋”一词的广泛匹配关键字还可以是包括“运动鞋”,“步行鞋”和“波鞋”等。
  • 词组匹配
    这些关键字包括确切的目标关键字以及任何包含前后单词的短语。 拿“跑步鞋”来打比方的话,这还包含了“最好的跑步鞋”,“如何固定跑步鞋”和“悉尼跑步鞋”等。
  • 完全匹配
    这些关键字将相关的关键字、缩写词以及其复数形式等紧密相关的词,作为目标。
  • 否定关键字
    这些关键字排除了您不想定位的关键字。这样一来,当搜索这些否定关键字时,您的广告就不会出现。例如,您可能只希望不定位给非悉尼搜索者,因此您的否定关键字将是“ 跑步鞋 墨尔本”。

指定目标

SEM的最佳功能之一是能够直接针对特定的受众目标和客户群体。除了SEM,其他任何数字营销策略都无法做到这一点。 您可以在广告活动中进行设置,以便将广告专门展示给某一群特定的受众目标。 这些可以包括:

  • 位置:仅向特定地理位置(例如州)或邮政编码内的受众群体展示广告。
  • 时间:广告只会在一周中的某天或一天中的某个时间向受众展示。
  • 设备:仅在特定设备(例如台式机或手机)上向受众群体展示广告。
  • 受众特征:仅向特定的年龄段,性别或收入的受众群体展示广告。

账户结构

帐户结构是指您的SEM广告活动的组织方式。 下面,这是Google SEM帐户中的帐户结构示例。

Google SEM帐户结构的示例。

资料来源:谷歌

只有当清楚了解帐户结构之后,您才可以更轻松地针对不同的受众群体进行某些关键词分组。只有知道您的预算花费在什么地方,您才可以很大程度上地减少不必要的支出,从而取得更加精简的广告营销效果。

付费广告的附加信息

我们之前提到过,SEM广告可以采用不同的形式,包括产品展示的广告和基于文字的广告。 付费广告附加信息会通过其他信息来扩展您的广告。 这些添加的信息可以包括:

  • 附加链接:直接链接到您网站的特定页面
  • 位置:显示到达目的地的位置和方向。
  • 联系:显示联系信息,例如电话号码和电子邮件
  • 标注:添加其他文字,例如“免费送货”。

Under Armour SEM广告上的附加链接的示例

资料来源:谷歌

这些附加信息可为您的广告增加价值和提升知名度,并为搜索者提供更多点击广告的理由。 虽然不一定总能显示附加信息(这取决于广告排名等多种因素),但扩展这些有用的信息并不需要花很多成本。

广告拍卖

当您选择关键字,选择定位参数和撰写好广告文案后,您就可以进行广告竞价了。

没错,您的广告需要经过搜索引擎来决定是否进行展示。 虽然这听起来可能很让人担心(“如果我的广告没有显示出来怎么办?”),但实际上这阻止了为了赚钱就占据了所有广告空间的大型预算公司的付费广告。

在广告竞价中,您的广告是根据两个主要因素来判断的:

  • 最高每次点击费用(CPC)出价:当人们点击您的广告时,您愿意支付的最高金额。
  • 质量得分:搜索引擎分配给您广告的得分。 得分是基于点击率(CTR)的估算,相关性和目标网页体验。

这两个因素最终不仅决定您的广告是否要进行展示,还决定了它在SERP上相对于其他广告的展示位置。 换句话来说,最终分数也被称为广告评级。

最关键的是,即使您没有其他品牌那么高的预算,您也可以通过提高质量得分来进行展示广告。

立即开启您的SEM搜索引擎营销活动

以上这些知识都是有关于SEM的基础框架,它能够帮助您更好塑造您的品牌形象。通过SEM搜索引擎营销,您能快速地取得优秀的结果和吸引更多潜在的客户!如果您正在寻找可以帮助您创建和优化SEM策略的优秀团队,请与我们的ZipZipe团队立即,我们最专业的SEM专家将全心全意为您效劳!

Because we are! Find out just how far we can take your brand.

Call Now Button
keywords:web design sydney seo company sydney digital marketing agencies sydney

fbpx

What is SEM?

The Ultimate Intro to Search Engine Marketing

What is SEM? It’s a common question that every savvy business owner asks at least once in their lifetime. Search Engine Marketing or SEM, is an effective digital marketing strategy that aims to bring increased traffic and visitors to your website quickly. Simply put, SEM is paid advertising that gets your ads and website to the top of search engine result pages (SERPs).

However diving into the world of SEM can be daunting to first timers, especially with its boatload of jargon, technicalities and nuances. We completely understand and it’s why we’ve created this article to help you grasp SEM – without overwhelming you with complex terms and language. So what are you waiting for? Let’s discover how SEM can bring serious results for your business, in record times.

What is SEM? And why do it?

As we mentioned, SEM is a form of paid advertising that makes your business visible in search engine result pages. The strategy revolves around ‘keywords’ which are the terms search users type in when looking for something on a search engine like Google.

By bidding on these keywords, you give your paid ads the opportunity to appear as a result when that keyword is searched for. SEM paid ads are known as pay-per-click ads (PPC) and come in different formats, such as text-based ads or visual product ads.

Different types of PPC ads. Source: Google

But why do it? SEM’s greatest strengths is its ability to put ads in front of the right customers at the right time. In other words, your ads will be seen by people who are most likely to interact or engage with your ads.

This increases both leads and conversions for your products or services. SEM is also super quick at what it does, capable of bringing in results almost immediately – a big difference between SEM and another form of search engine advertising, SEO.

The difference between SEM and SEO

Speaking of the difference between SEM and SEO, what else separates the two digital marketing strategies? First of all, SEO is free and SEM isn’t. If that’s the case, why bother with SEM at all? It’s because when it comes to SEO and SEM, you practically get what you pay for. SEM’s paid advertising brings in quick, high quality results, while SEO’s organic search results are free but slower to come to fruition.

Both strategies also target different stages of the buyer journey – SEO brings continuous traffic at the top of the journey, while SEM brings conversions at the bottom. SEM and SEO aren’t mutually exclusive, they can both be a part of your digital marketing strategy – and they should be!

SEM Fundamentals

Now that we know the core function of SEM, let’s dig a little deeper and find out how it works. Like we promised, we’ll try not to go too overboard with the jargon and keep our explanations as simple as possible!

Keywords

Keywords are at the core of any SEM campaign. You want your ads to appear when people search for them – it’s why selecting the most effective, relevant keywords for your paid ads is so important! You can also choose keywords to avoid as well.

Effective keyword research is the backbone of a good SEM campaign!

All in all, there are four types of keywords you can use in your campaign.

  • Broad match: these keywords target variations of a term. They include similar phrases, misspelled words, and synonyms of the target term. For example, broad match keywords for the term ‘running shoes’ can also include ‘sneakers’, ‘walking shoe’ and ‘runners’.
  • Phrase match: these keywords include the exact target keyword along with any phrases that include words before or after. Examples for ‘running shoes’ include ‘best running shoes’, ‘how to fix running shoes’ and ‘running shoes sydney’.
  • Exact match: these keywords target the exact keyword along with closely related terms such as abbreviations and plural forms.
  • Negative keywords: these exclude keywords that you don’t want to target. This makes it so that your ads don’t appear when these negative keywords are searched. For example, you may only want not to target non-Sydney searchers so you a negative keyword would be ‘running shoes melbourne’.

Targeting

One of SEM’s best features is its ability to directly target specific audiences and customers. No other digital marketing strategy can do this as well as SEM. Within your campaign you can set it up so that ads are shown specifically to a group of people. These can include:

  • Location: ads are only shown to audiences within a certain geographic location (such as a state) or post code.
  • Time: ads are only shown to audiences during a certain day of the week or time of day.
  • Device: ads are only shown to audiences on specific devices such as desktops or mobile phones.
  • Demographic: ads are only shown to target audiences of a specific age range, gender or income.

Account Structure

Account structure refers to the way your SEM campaigns are organised. Here’s an example of an account structure within a Google SEM account.

A sample of a Google SEM account structure.

Understanding your account structure makes it easier to group certain keywords and target different audiences. Knowing where your budget is also being spent can minimise excessive costs and streamline the performance of your campaign.

Paid Ad Extensions

We previously mentioned that SEM ads can take different forms including product display and text-based ads. Paid ad extensions expand your ad with additional information. This added information can include:

  • Sitelinks: link directly to specific pages of your website
  • Location: displays location and directions to get there.
  • Call: displays contact information such as phone numbers and emails
  • Callout: add additional text such as ‘free delivery’.

Example of sitelink extensions on an Under Armour SEM ad.

These extensions add value and visibility to your ad and give searchers more reasons to click your ads. While extensions are not always guaranteed to show (this is based on a number of factors such as ad rank), they don’t cost a thing to set up.

Ad auctions

Once you’ve selected your keywords, selected your targeting parameters and created the content of your ads, it’s time for it to go through an ad auction.

That’s right, your ads need to go through a process where the search engine will decide whether to show it or not. While this sounds bad (‘what if my ads don’t show up?’), it actually prevents paid ads from big budget companies taking up all ad space for simply having the most money.

In an ad auction, your ad is judged on two main factors:

  • Max cost per click (CPC) bid: the maximum amount of money you are willing to pay when someone clicks on your ad.
  • Quality score: a score that the search engine assigns to your ad. The score is based on estimated click-through rate (CTR), relevance and landing page experience.

These two factors ultimately determine not only if your ad is shown but where it is shown on SERPs relative to other ads; a final score also known as Ad Rank.

The key thing to remember is that even if you don’t have as high a budget as other brands, you can still get your ads shown by improving your quality score.

Start your own SEM campaigns now

Those are the basic fundamentals of SEM, hopefully giving you a foundation to go ahead and start creating your own now. The quick results and the high-quality leads you’ll receive from a strong SEM campaign is too good to ignore!

You’ve got the answer to the question ‘what is SEM?’ – the next step is optimising it! Click here to find our Top 8 Tips to Optimise Your Campaign. If you’re looking for a team to help you create and optimise your SEM strategy, contact our team at ZipZipe where our SEM experts will be more than happy to help!

Because we are! Find out just how far we can take your brand.

Call Now Button
keywords:web design sydney seo company sydney digital marketing agencies sydney